Board of Trustees

In the Unitarian Coastal Fellowship, the congregation is the basic governing unit of our church. We control our own funds and property, determine the conditions of membership, plan worship services, and call ministers.  Board members are elected by the congregation.

Our Board of Trustees consists of four officers: President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer; and one Leadership Council Trustee, who chairs the Leadership Council and acts as the liaison between the Leadership Council and the Board of Trustees. UCF’s minister is a non-voting member. The Board defines procedures, sets policy, and is responsible for the budgetary and fiduciary affairs of the Fellowship. It is also the body that develops and monitors long-range plans for the church. Meetings are open to everyone.  Contact Board President Melva Kearney (melva.kearney@gmail.com) for meeting times and information.

Leadership Council

UCF’s Leadership Council promotes communication among all elements of congregational life. It is responsible for coordinating Fellowship programs and operations, particularly those that have cross-committee impacts.  The Leadership Council does not implement changes to the budget or changes to UCF policies and procedures, but can make recommendations to the Board.  Council members are the minister, staff persons, and the chairs of standing committees. UCF’s minister is a non-voting member. The Leadership Council Trustee chairs the council. Meetings are monthly, and are open to everyone.  Contact Leadership Council Trustee Mary Anna Newman for meeting times and information.

OUR LEADERSHIP:

BOARD OF TRUSTEESLEADERSHIP COUNCIL AND COMMITTEE CHAIRS
President: Melva Kearney melva.kearney@gmail.comChair: Mary Anna Newman manewman47@gmail.com
Vice President: Susan Fetzer sgfetzer@gmail.comWorship: Marilynn Cullison mscullison@gmail.com
Secretary: Harriet Altman harrietaltman@icloud.comFinance: Jo Ellen Essex jolnsx@gmail.com
Treasurer: David Hughes ucfwelcomenc@gmail.comMembership: Nan Reed nanreed5@gmail.com
Leadership Trustee: Mary Anna Newman manewman47@gmail.comSocial Action: Amy Jones amjones0912@gmail.com and Barb Thomas bsthomas2@gmail.com
Facilities: Sandra Shelp shelpsk@yahoo.com
Adult Religious Education: Sally Davis sdavis8772@gmail.com
Children’s Religious Education: Sarah Sutherland ucf.re.sarah@gmail.com
Green Sanctuary: Lauren Donnachie lsdonnachie@twc.com and Linda Rudd lerudd@ncsu.ecu
Care Circle Coordinator: Pam Holliday pamelalaholliday@gmail.com
Newsletter Editor: Jamie DeRose ucfofficeassistant@gmail.com

Bylaws and Policies:

Bylaws are adopted by vote of the congregation; policies are adopted and amended by vote of the Board of Trustees. 

To download our bylaws

UCF Bylaws- 2020 – Revised July, 2020

To download our policy manual

Section 1 – Governance and Structure – Revised September 2020 (Including Table of Contents)

Section 2-Administrative Policies and Procedures – Revised September 2020 (including Table of Contents)

Appendices – 2020